Macomb County logo
  

Macomb County Circut Court Building

Services


Resources


Hours

Fax Numbers

Register of Deeds

Click here for e-mail updates

Click here to make an appointment using the FastPass system Don't wait in line at the Clerk's Office!
CLICK HERE to make your appointment for many of the Clerk's Office services such as birth records, marriage applications, business registrations and concealed pistol licenses.

MACOMB COUNTY CLERK / REGISTER OF DEEDS

Notary Public Commission


Welcome to the Notary Public Commission Information page of the Macomb County Clerk / Register of Deeds website.  Below you will find information on how to verify whether a person is a Notary Public and how to qualify for a Notary appointment.

FAQs CLICK HERE for Notary Public
"Frequently Asked Questions"

Macomb County Clerk / Register of Deeds Carmella Sabaugh

Macomb County Clerk / Register of Deeds Carmella Sabaugh

 

Notary Public Search Search


     CLICK HERE to verify whether a person is a Notary Public.

Out of State Notary Search Search


     CLICK HERE to verify Notary Publics from other states.

How To Qualify For A Notary Appointment

To qualify for a notary appointment, an individual must be at least 18 years old; a resident of the State of Michigan or if you are a non-Michigan resident maintain a principal place of business in the State; U.S. citizen or proof of legal presence; read and write in English; and be free of any felony/misdemeanor convictions, and other violations as described in the law.

Apply In Person


Visit the Macomb County Clerk's Offices at 40 North Main (first floor of the Macomb County Court Building) in Downtown Mount Clemens.  CLICK HERE for directions to the Macomb County Clerk's Office.

Fees


  • $10.00 -- bond filing fee.

  • Method of payments accepted: cash, check, VISA, Mastercard, Discover and American Express.

     Visa Card MasterCardDiscover CardAmerican Express Card

  • Please make checks payable to: "Macomb County Clerk."

Download An Application


CLICK HERE to download a Michigan Notary Public Application

Receive Application Using Your Fax


To print document 3140 on your fax machine, call 800-514-0451 if you are calling from within Michigan. If you are calling from out-of-state, call 310-575-5035.

 

Application Process


Effective April 1, 2004, the new application process will be as follows:

  • The applicant must complete the notary application from the Secretary of State and acquire a surety bond in the sum of $10,000 from a surety agent licensed to do business in this state. CLICK HERE for more information about surety bonding. CLICK HERE to visit the Notary Public Information section of the Michigan Secretary of State's website.

  • The applicant must file the proper surety bond and $10 filing fee at the County Clerk. The applicant's signature must be notarized.  With either option below, the applicant can use the Notary Public Application Cover form to indicate payment with a credit card and delivery options of the copy of their time-stamped bond and county sealed application.  Applications must show their driver's license or state ID.  If  the application was given to the clerk's Office by:

    •  U.S. mail: the signature must be notarized at the time the applicant signed the application.

    • In Person: the signature can be previously notarized or if the applicant signs the application in front of the deputy clerk, staff can notarize it.

  • The County Clerk shall verify the bond and affix the county seal to the application.

  • The applicant shall submit via mail the county approved application to the Secretary of State along with the required $10 application fee.

  • The Office of the Great Seal within the Secretary of State shall review the application and may conduct a background check.

  • The Secretary of State approves or denies the application after a review of the application, payment of the proper fee, and results of any background investigation.

  • When the Secretary of State approves an application, the applicant receives their notary commission by mail. The appointment would expire on his or her birthday between six and seven years after the date of appointment.

  • When the Secretary of State denies an application, the applicant receives a denial letter with appeal rights by mail.

 

CLICK HERE to visit the Notary Public Information section of the Michigan Secretary of State's website.


Need Help? Call 586-469-5205 or CLICK HERE to return to the Macomb County Clerk's Office home page



          
This site is best viewed with a resolution of 1024 x 768 (or higher) and supports
Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0+ or Netscape 7.0.